Hugo Alfvén (1872-1960)

[Gustav II Adolf. Orchestral Suite. 6] Breitenfeld. Battle-piece from the Orchestral Suite Gustav II Adolf

Opus 49; Rudén no. 121

  • Work category: Orchestral works in several movements
  • Dedication: To Einar Rosenborg 5 March 1944
  • Duration: 10 min
  • Detailed duration: According to printed edition


3*.3*.3*.3* / / timp, 4 perc / str (picc, cor angl, bass clar, dbn)

Examples of printed editions

Stockholm 1942, CG 3371

Location for score and part material

Gehrmans musikförlag

  • Location autograph: Uppsala Universitetsbibliotek
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: UUB VMhs 203:2

Examples of recordings

The entire suite Swedish Society SCD 1013, 1987
The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, cond. Stig Westerberg

Description of work

Andante Dorian on F 3/4, then varying keys