Bernhard Crusell (1775−1838)

Concerto pour la clarinette [B-flat major]

opus 11

1. Allegro risoluto
2. Andante moderato
3. Alla pollacca

  • Year of composition: ca 1828?
  • Work category: Clarinet and orchestra
  • Dedication: à son altesse royale le prince Oscar prince royale de Suède et de Norvège
  • Arrangement/revision: The piece also exists in an arrangement for wind orchestra by Gunnar Johansson
  • Duration: 23 min

Instrumentation / / timp / str

Examples of printed editions

• Peters, Leipzig, [ca 1828]
• Edition Reimers, Stockholm 1995, edition by Fabian Dahlström

Location for score and part material

Handwritten material at Musik- och Teaterbiblioteket

Examples of recordings

• Fermat FLPS 20, senast 1987 (with wind orchestra)
Harry Sernklef, Västra musikregionens symfoniska blåsorkester, Gothenburg, cond. Everett Lee
• BIS, BIS CD 345, 1987
Karl Leister, Lahti Symphony Orchestra, cond. Osmo Vänskä
• Hyperion, CDA 66055, at the latest in 1990
Thea King, London Philharmonic Orchestra, cond. Alun Francis
• EMI 59287, at the latest in 2000
Antony Pay, Upplysningstidens orkester
Centaur CRC 2495, at the latest in 2008
Steven D. Hartman, New York Scandia Symphony, cond. Dorrit Matson.

Description of work

1. Allegro risoluto B-flat major 4/4
2. Andante moderato E-flat major 4/4
3. Alla pollacca B-flat major 3/4