Wilhelm Peterson-Berger (1867−1942)

Ran. A dramatic poem (in three acts)

  • Year of composition: 1899-1900 (according to Henrik Karlsson's list of works, 2004)
  • Work category: Opera
  • Text author: Wilhelm Peterson-Berger
  • Dedication: To Fredrik Vult von Steijern (according to the libretto)
  • First performed: 20 May 1903 at the Royal Opera (cond. Richard Henneberg, director: the composer) Liva Edström (née Järnefelt) (Rikissa), Anna Hellström (born Thulin, née Oscár) (Ingrid), Arvid Ödmann (Waldemar), Åke Wallgren (Ulf Tufveson), Matilda Jungstedt (Ran), Axel Sellergren (Sten Folkeson), Carl August Söderman (Mårten Prest), Fredrik Ericson (Bengt), Sofie Lindegrén (A lady-in-the-waiting), Bror Arrhenius (A servant) et. al (according to Henrik Karlsson's list of works, 2004)
  • Duration: Approx. 120-180 min


3*.3*.3*.3* / / timp (2 par), perc, 2 hp / str:
(picc, cor angl, bass clar, dbn)
perc: glockenspiel, triangle, large drum, tam-tam, symbal, tamburine
Note in the autograph: 'Instrumentiation, intended for the Stockholm Opera.'

Solo voices/choir

Sten Folkesson, master of Solö (bass)
Rikissa, his housewife (soprano)
Ingrid, their daughter (soprano)
Waldemar, Ingrid's fiance, knight (tenor)
Ulf Tuvesson, knight (baritone)
Mårten Prest [sic] (baritone)
Bengt, Waldemars squire (baritone)
Ran (alto)

Wedding guests (mixed choir)
Swordsmen and people at Solö (male choir)
Ran's bridesmaids (female choir, sopranos)
Invisible choir (female choir, sopranos)

Solo voices: 2 sopranos (Rikissa, Ingrid), 1 alto (Ran), 1 tenor (Waldemar), 3 baritones (Ulf, Mårten, Bengt), 1 bass (Sten)
Choir: Female choir (S.S.S.), Male choir (T.T.B.B.), Mixed choir (S.S.A.A.T.T.B.B.)

Examples of printed editions

Ran. Förkortadt klavérutdrag (Scenes and motifs from Ran. Handling i 3 akter för soli, chör och orchester. Piano solo)
Abraham Lundquists Kungl. Hof-Musikhandel, Georg Abrahamson Lundquists Förlag. Abr. L. 3641

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Z/Sv (piano vocal score with orchestral instrumentation etc.)

Description of work