Andreas Randel (1806−1864)

Medley of Swedish National Melodies

  • Year of composition: The original version for violin and piano was composed in 1843
  • Work category: Violin and orchestra
  • Arrangement/revision: Conrad Rudolf af Uhr
  • Duration: Approx. 15-20 min

Instrumentation / / corn / perc / str

Location for score and part material

Musik- och teaterbiblioteket

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: The score is likely in the arranger's hand.

Description of work

Introduzione: Allegro con Spirito G major [piano solo], Andante Pastorale 6/8 , Allegro con Spirito G minor 4/4 (C), Moderato quasi Andante 3/8, Tempo di Polacca: Moderato 3/4, Poco piu di moto, Cadenza, Moderato quasi Andante D minor 2/4, Piu mosso, Tempo di Polacca G minor 3/4, G major, G minor, Poco Andante 2/4, Piu mosso 3/4

Work comment

Fantasie af Randel is the title on the hard cover.

'Pot-pourri’ etc. is the title on the endpapers.

This is said to be a piano reduction, which together with the recurring appearance of 'Tutti' here and there in the piece implies that it is actually a work for violin and orchestra.