Johan Agrell (1701−1765)

Sonata IV, from Sei Sonate per il Cembalo Solo

opus 2 no. 4


1. Allegro
2. Affettuoso
3. Allegro
4. Menuetto
5. Trio

  • Year of composition: Printed in Nürnberg ca 1748 and later in London
  • Work category: Harpsichord
  • Duration: Approx. 5-10 min

Examples of printed editions

Facsimile of the so called London edition, printed by I. Walsh in 1748, available at Musik- och teaterbiblioteket. Facsimile published by Autographus Musicus, Stockholm.

E-edition by Johan Tufvesson 1999 based on Musik- och teaterbiblioteket's facsimile available at Projekt Runeberg, as media file below or

Description of work

1. Allegro E minor 4/4 (C)
2. Affettuoso E major 6/8
3. Allegro E minor 2/4
4. Menuetto E minor 3/8
5. Trio E minor 3/8