Anton Andersen (1845−1926)

Symphony no. 4 in D major


1, Allegro risoluto
2. Intermezzo: Allegro ma non tanto
3. Adagio
4. Finale: Allegro con brio

  • Year of composition: About 1900-1910
  • Work category: Symphony
  • First performed: 15 December, 1906 at the Royal Swedish Academy of Music, Stockholm, with the then Stockholm Concert Society Orchestra (now the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra) under the baton of Tor Aulin
  • Arrangement/revision: Arrangemang för 2 pianon, Musikaliska Konstföreningen 1903
  • Duration: Approx. 30-40 min


3*.2.2*.2 / / timp, pno / str
(picc, bass clar)

Examples of printed editions

Arrangement for 2 pianos, Musikaliska Konstföreningen 1903

Location for score and part material

The music library at the Stockholm Concert Hall, no. 1543, score and parts. [The score is filled with numerous annotations (probably made by Tor Aulin) about e.g., changes in tempo.]

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket

Description of work

1, Allegro risoluto ["poco moderato" has been crossed out and replaced by "risoluto".] D major 3/4, 175 bars, poco animato, 6 bars, a tempo, 14 bars, Tranq., 16 bars, B-flat minor, 25 bars, D major, 125 bars, in total 361 bars
2. Intermezzo: Allegro ma non tanto B-flat major 3/4, 357 bars
3. Adagio F major 4/4 (C), 105 bars [ends in A major!]
4. Finale: Allegro con brio [An initial "Poco" has been crossed out, "con brio" added.] D major alla breve, 1/2 bar, /:44 bars, Tranquillo A-flat major, 28 bars, D major [a tempo?], 23 bars:/, 296 bars, in total 391 bars

Work comment

The order of the above movements follows the material at the Stockholm Concert Hall. In the autograph and the printed edition for 2 pianos the Adagio movement is placed as no. 2 and the Intermezzo as no. 3.