Gustaf Bengtsson (1886-1965)

Quintetto for two violins, 2 viola and cello


1. Allegro moderato con spirito
2. Andante sostenuto
3. Allegro energico — Trio: Canon — Tranquillo et con espressione — Scherzo D.C.
4. Rondo: Allegro moderato

  • Year of composition: 1907, revised 1964
  • Work category: String quintet
  • First performed: 1907 at the Royal Opera(?). Members from the Royal Court Orchestra: Carlborg, Enstedt, Larsén, Bengtsson, Lindgren
  • Duration: Approx. 20-25 min


2 vn, 2 vla, vc

Examples of printed editions

Merton Music, London 2005 (ed. Krister Persson)

Location for score and part material

Handwritten manuscript owned by the grandson Fredrik Bengtsson


Persson, Krister: Gustaf Bengtsson, String Quintet A minor (pp. I-III)

Description of work

1. Allegro moderato con spirito A minor 4/4
2. Andante sostenuto C major 3/4
3. Allegro energico A minor - Trio: Canon. Tranquillo et con espressione A major. Scherzo D. C., 3/4
4. Rondo: Allegro moderato A major 2/4

Work comment

Mannerbjörk, Tord: Gustaf Bengtsson (1886-1965). Hans liv och hans verk. Bachelor's thesis (level D) in musicology, Musikvetenskapliga institutionen, Göteborgs universitet 2006