Bernhard Crusell (1775−1838)

Concertante pour Clarinette, Cor et Basson [B-flat major]

opus 3


1. Allegro
2. Andante sostenuto
3. Allegro ma non tanto

  • Year of composition: 1808
  • Work category: Solo for several wind instruments and orchestra
  • Dedication: dédiée à Monsieur le Baron Gustave d'Akerhjelm Colonel et Chevalier de l'ordre de l'Épée
  • First performed: 2 April 1808, Stockholm, the composer on clarinet, Johann Michael Hirschfeld on horn, Johan Conrad Preymayr on bassoon
  • Duration: 27 min

Instrumentation / / timp / str

There also exists an arrangement for wind orchestra, probably written by Crusell himself.

Examples of printed editions

• Parts, Peters, Leipzig [1816]
• Score, parts: Edition Ka.We., Amsterdam 1961
Piano reduction: Edition Ka.We. Amsterdam 1981 / Hans Pizka Edition, Kirchheim


Dahlström, Fabian: Bernhard Henrik Crusell, pp. 144-154 (Svenska Litteratursällskapet i Finland, Ekenäs, 1976)

Description of work

1. Allegro B-flat major 4/4
2. Andante sostenuto E-flat major 3/4
3. Allegro ma non tanto, B-flat major 2/4, Andantino di Cherubini, Più vivo, Più stretto, Tempo 1