Joseph Czapek (1825−1915)

Sinfonie Nro II Ess-dur [Symphony no. II in E-flat major]

  • Year of composition: 1855
  • Work category: Symphony
  • Dedication: To the Royal Swedish Academy of Music
  • Duration: Approx. 50-60 min
  • Detailed duration: Duration uncertain

Instrumentation / 2.3*.1.1 / timp, perc / str
(alto hn)
perc: cymb, bass dr

Examples of printed editions

Levande musikarv |Swedish Musical Heritage], critical edition by Anders Carlsson (2019)

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket

Description of work

Movement no. I: Andante maestoso - Allegro E-flat major - B-flat major - E-flat major 4/4 (C)
Movement no. II, Scherzo: Allegro - Piu [sic] lento - Allegro - Prestissimo E-flat major - A-flat major - E-flat major 3/4
Movement no. III: Andantino quasi allegretto A-flat major 2/4
Movement no. IV, Finale: Presto E-flat major 2/4

Work comment

There is also an adaptation of Movement no. III set for a more ordinary symphony orchestra. See separate post for that version.