John Fernström (1897−1961)

Suite no. 1 from the music to the ballet Ni-Si-Pleng

opus 87 b


1. Prelude and Entrance dance
2. Oriental festival music
3. Dance of the holy bird

  • Year of composition: End of the 1940s
  • Work category: Orchestral works in several movements
  • Duration: 11 min


2*.2*.2.2 / / timp, 2 perc, xyl, hp, cel, pno / str
(picc, cor angl)

Location for score and part material

Svensk Musik

  • Location autograph: Svensk Musik (STIM)


Kleen, Tyra: Ni-Si-Pleng. En historia om svarta barn, berättad och ritad för vita barn (J. A. Lindblads förlag, Uppsala, 1924)

Description of work

1. Prelude and Entrance dance.
Prelude: Andantino 4/4
Entrance dance Moderato grazioso 3/4
2. Oriental festival music: Allegro 3/4
3. Dance of the holy bird: Allegro moderato 3/4 mixed with 4/4