John Fernström (1897−1961)

Isissystrarnas bröllop, Lyrical episode in one act (three tableaus) after a poem by Verner von Heidenstam

opus 58

  • Year of composition: 1942
  • Work category: Opera, one act
  • Text author: Anna Munch-Falk after Isissystrarnas bröllop av Verner von Heidenstam, from the collection Vallfart och vandringsår (1888)
  • Duration: Approx. 50-60 min
  • Detailed duration: Playing time is estimated (72 pages in the piano reduction)

Instrumentation / / timp, perc / str

Solo voices/choir

Solo voices: 1 soprano (Ahanna), 1 mezzo-soprano (Bent-Amenemma), 1 tenor (Jubra), 2 baritone (Saakera, Djufar)
Choir: Mixed choir S.A.T.B., Female choir S.A.A. (Isissystrarna), Male choir T.B.B. (Hatorprästerna)

Location for score and part material

Svensk Musik

Description of work

Overture: Moderato misterioso 4/4, Allegro molto D minor 3/4
[First tableau]: 18 pages in the piano reduction
Second tableau: 21 pages
Third tableau: 26 pages