Ulf Grahn (1942-)

String quartet no 2

  • Year of composition: 1979
  • Work category: String quartet
  • Dedication: To The National Symphony String Quartet
  • First performed: Commissioned by The National Symphony String Quartet / Miron Koijan
    Premiered Corcoran Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C. on November 16, 1979 National Symphony String Quartet (Miron Kijan, Virginia Harpham violin; Richard Parnas, viola; John Martin, cello)
  • Duration: 13 min


violin, violin, viola, cello

Location for score and part material


Description of work

A string Quartet in one movement in a sort of aba form. It's traditionally notated as opposed to no. 1 (1969) which is more of a graphic score with specific rules for the interpretation


Experience the work on SoundCloud

Work comment

This was a commission from the National Symphony String Quartet through their first violinist Miron Kojan.

I started one which I then abandoned since it didn't mach the idea in my head. The vision for the piece came as a reflection of a boat trip from Kavala to Thasos in Northern Greece. The trip was in complite fog, no land could be seen in any direction.

It reminded me about Odysseus when he left Troy and entered the thick mist just in this area of the Aegean See. Started anew with few weeks left before the deadline. It starts slowly, mysterious and develops into clear presence to later return into the mist/fog.