Ulf Grahn (1942-)

Soundscape VI: The stillness in the Silence


One movement

  • Year of composition: 2012
  • Work category: Voices and ensemble
  • First performed: Date:
    16 October, 2012
    Hannover, Galerie Robert Drees
    Julia Mihály & Karin Pawolka (sopranos), Daniel Schröder & Sebastian Wendt (cl)
  • Duration: 12 min
  • Detailed duration: c. 12 minutes


2 sopranos (also perc), b-cl/perc, cb-cl/perc

Location for score and part material

Svensk Musik

Description of work

It's the sixth work in the Soundscape series. The performers are spread out in the performance space; the distance may vary depending on acoustics, etc.


Experience the work on SoundCloud

Work comment

This work was written for the Ensemble Du Silence with guests, sopranos Julia Mihály and Karin Pawolka, and clarinetists Daniel Schröder and Sebastian Wendt, for the performance in Hannover in October, 2012. It is one of several works using antiphonal ideas where the musicians are spread within the performance space. The sopranos' parts are vocalises, with no text. All four performers have to play also small percussion instruments.