Ulf Grahn (1942-)

Ancient Music for piano and Chamber Orchestra

  • Year of composition: 1970
  • Work category: Piano and orchestra
  • First performed: Premiered at the Danish Radio Copenhagen, Denmark, on March 20, 1972 by the Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Barbro Dahlman, piano
    Ole Schmidt, conductor
    Swedish premiere Swedish Radio
    Norrköping Symphony Orchestra, Barbro Dahlman, piano, Gustaf Sjökvist, conductor

  • Duration: 13 min
  • Detailed duration: c. 13 minutes


piano and chamber orch -- 1111 0000 01 0 str

Examples of printed editions

Seesaw Music

Location for score and part material

Score and parts Seesaw Music c/o mail@subitomusic.com

Description of work

A work for piano and chamber orchestra composed in the summer of 1970. The work consists of three parts without break [attacca]


Listen to the work on SoundCloud

Work comment

This work was composed at the request of Tamara Dimitrieff, and for pianist Barbro Dahlman. Tamara Dimitrieff was Barbro Dahlman's piano teacher in Washington D.C. For The National Gallery of Arts orchestra. The piece makes use of the same performance techniques and formal traits as the Cinq Preludes for piano, composed the same year.