Andreas Hallén (1846−1925)

Das Schloss im See. Simfonische Ballade / Trollslottet. Symphonic Ballad

opus 32

  • Year of composition: 1889 (according to Sohlmans Musiklexikon, vol. 3, 1976)
  • Work category: Mixed choir and orchestra
  • Text author: Wolfgang Müller von Königswinter (trans. by Herman Ring)
  • Duration: Approx. 20-25 min
  • Detailed duration: 25' (according to the broadcast of P2 on 3 April 1995 with Radiokören and Sveriges Radios Symfoniorkester, cond: Esa-Pekka Salonen)


2*.2.2.2 / 4.2.3*.0 / timp, perc, hp / str
(picc, bass tbn)
perc: trgl, cymb, tam

Solo voices/choir


Examples of printed editions

Elkan & Schildknecht, E. & S. 1165 (piano reduction)

Location for score and part material

Handwritten parts at Musik- och teaterbiblioteket

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Z/Sv (score)

Description of work

Andante sostenuto (score) / Andante espressivo (piano reduction) B minor (varying key signatures) 4/4 (C) (varying time signatures)


Leis' auf den Bergwald sinkt die Nacht / Tyst sjunker qvällen [sic] kring skogen ner