Charles F. Hanson (1849-1921)

Fridthjof and Ingeborg, Opera in three acts

  • Year of composition: 1898
  • Work category: Opera
  • Text author: Libretto by Anna Cronjelm Wallberg, after Tegnér's Fritjofs saga
  • First performed: 1898 in Chicago, concert performance
  • Duration: Approx. 90-120 min
  • Detailed duration: The opera consists of three acts and covers 138 pages in the piano reduction

Instrumentation / 4.2**3.1 / timp / str
(2 corn)

Solo voices/choir

Solo voices: 1 soprano (Ingeborg), 1 alto (Gerda), 2 tenors (Fridthjof, Halfdan), 7 baritones (Bjorn, Hilding, A Bard, A Priest, Ola, A Warrior, A Herald), 1 bass (Ring)
Choir: mixed choir S.A.T.B. and male choir T.T.B.B. (Courtiers, ladies, warriors, girls, farmers)

Examples of printed editions

Piano vocal score: C. F. Hanson & Sons, Worcester 1898

Location for score and part material

Handwritten parts at Worcester Historical Museum

Description of work

Overture: minim = 80 D major alla breve etc.

Act 1
Scene 1: In Framnäs, Norway, before the inauguration of Christianity. Bjorn, Fridthjof, Ingeborg, choir
Scene 2: At the eyre. Herald, Fridthiof, Helge
Scene 3: At Framnäs. Halfdan, Fridthiof, Hilding

Act 2
Scene 1: In Balder's temple. Frithiof, Ingeborg, male choir
Scene 2: At the eyre. Helge, Warrior, Frithiof, Halfdan, male choir
Scene 3: In Balder's cave. Frithiof, Ingeborg

Act 3
Scene 1: Sea coast. Fridthiof, Bjorn, choir
Scene 2: Framnäs, Christmas feast at King Ring. Ola, Ring, Fridthiof, Bard, Ingeborg, Gerda, choir
Prelude to Scene 3: Andante D major 2/4
Scene 3: In the woods. Fridthjof, Ring, Ingeborg, Gerda, Ola, male choir
Scene 4: At the eyre. Fridthiof, Priest, choir