Adolf Fredrik Lindblad (1801−1878)

Symphoni in D major [no. 2]


1. Maestoso
2. Andante con moto quasi poco Allegretto
3. Scherzo: Allegro molto
4. Finale: Allegro

  • Year of composition: ca 1850-55, later revised
  • Work category: Symphony
  • First performed: 6 May 1855, Stockholm, Hovkapellet conducted by Jacopo Foroni.
  • Duration: 34 min

Instrumentation / / timp / str

Examples of printed editions

Edition Reimers (Monumenta Musicae Svecicae), Stockholm 2004, critical edition

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket

Description of work

1. Maestoso D major 3/4, Allegro molto alla breve
2. Andante con moto quasi poco Allegretto F major 2/4
3. Scherzo: Allegro molto D major 3/4
4. Finale: Allegro D major 4/4

Work comment

After its first performance, Lindblad made a revised version of this symphony

Media files

Edition Swedish Musical Heritage