August Säfström (1813-1888)

Sånger ur operetten Fiskar-Stugan [Songs from the operetta Fiskar-Stugan (The fisherman's cottage)]


1, Barcarol [Barcarolle] (Leonard)
2. Aria (Clara)
3. Kupletter [Cuplés] (Olof)
4. Recitativ och Romans [Recitative and Romance] (Leonard)

  • Year of composition: 1844
  • Work category: Voice and piano
  • Text author: The composer
  • Duration: Approx. 5-10 min

Examples of printed editions

Abraham Hirsch, Stockholm 1844
Copies can be found at the Kungliga Biblioteket (the National Library of Sweden, Stockholm)

Description of work

1. Barcarol [Barcarolle] (Leonard): Allegretto F major 6/8
2. Aria (Clara): (no tempo marking) D major 3/4, Allegro moderato D major 4/4 (C)
3. Kupletter [Cuplés] (Olof): Andante con moto E-flat major 3/4
4. Recitativ och Romans [Recitative and Romance] (Leonard): (no tempo marking) D minor 4/4 (C), Andantino grazioso D minor 4/4 (C)

Work comment

The operetta 'Fiskarstugan' [The fisherman's cottage] premiered at the Kungliga Teatern [Royal Theatre, Stockholm] on 4 January, 1844. The libretto and music are by August Säfström. To assist him, he had the concertmaster of the Hovkapellet [the Orchestra of the Royal Theatre/Opera] Andreas Randel, who arranged and orchestrated the music and also wrote an overture. These songs were printed already in January the same year.