August Söderman (1832−1876)

Die verlassene Mühle / Qvarnruinen (Kvarnruinen)

  • Year of composition: Leipzig, 10 March, 1857 (according to Monumenta Musicae Svecicae: 11)
  • Work category: Voice and piano
  • Text author: A. F. A. Schnetzler [sic; referring to F. A. A. Schnezler (1809-1853)] (unknown translator)
  • Dedication: To Hofkapellmeister Ludvig Norman as a token of esteem and friendship (according to Hirsch's edition)
  • Duration: Approx. 5-10 min

Solo voices/choir


Examples of printed editions

Abraham Hirsch (Musikaliska Konstföreningens förlag [the publishing house of the Swedish Art Music Society]), no ed. no. (which edition also includes the score of Söderman's composition "Tannhäuser")
Monumenta Musicae Svecicae: 11, Edition Reimers AB, ER 40110 (piano reduction)

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Z/Sv


Jeanson, Gunnar: August Söderman. En svensk tondiktares liv och verk, 1926

Description of work

Lento A minor 6/4


Das Wasser rauscht zum Wald hinein / I väster bleknar dagens sken