Wilhelm Stenhammar (1871−1927)

Symphony [no. 1] in F major


1. Tempo molto tranquillo — Allegro
2. Andante con moto
3. Allegro amabile
4. Allegro non tanto, ma con fuoco — tranquillo

  • Year of composition: 31 August 1903
  • Work category: Symphony
  • First performed: 16 December 1903 at the Royal Swedish Academy of Music, Stockholm. The Concert Society Orchestra, conducted by Tor Aulin
  • Duration: 53 min

Instrumentation / / timp / str

Examples of printed editions

Levande musikarv/Swedish Musical Heritage. Critical edition by Finn Rosengren.

Location for score and part material

Swedish Music (STIM) provides performance material

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Wilhelm Stenhammar's archive


Wallner, Bo: Wilhelm Stenhammar och hans tid, vols. 1-3 (Norstedts Förlag, Stockholm, 1991)

Description of work

1. Tempo molto tranquillo F major 4/4
2. Andante con moto A minor 3/4
3. Allegro amabile B-flat major 2/4
4. Allegro non tanto, ma con fuoco F major 2/2

Media files

Edition Swedish Musical Heritage

  • Scores
    • Symfoni [nr 1] F-dur - Score (pdf - 4.2 MB  |  Downloaded 2384 times)
      Reviderad 2021
      Tryckt material kan beställas från Svensk Musik. Printed material can be obtained from Svensk Musik: