Alice Tegnér (1864−1943)

Come, live with me and be my love [for female trio]

  • Year of composition: c. 1910-1920
  • Work category: Female choir a cappella
  • Text author: Christopher Marlowe (1564-1593)
  • Duration: Approx. 1-5 min

Solo voices/choir

Female choir, S.A.A.

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Alice Tegnér’s collection. Score. Scanned by the Musik- och teaterbiblioteket

Description of work

Gavott sirligt [Gavotte graceful] A-flat major 4/4 (C)


Come live with me and be my love
And we will all the pleasures prove
That hills and valleys, dale and field,
And all the craggy mountains yield ...

There will we sit upon the rocks 
And see the shepherds feed their flocks,
By shallow rivers, to whose falls
Melodious birds sing madrigals.

The shepherd swains shall dance and sing 
For thy delight each May-morning:
If these delights thy mind may move,
Then live with me and be my Love