Hugo Alfvén (1872-1960)

Swedish Rapsody no. 2

Opus 24 ; Rudén no. 58

  • Year of composition: Dated Saltsjöbaden 30 April 1907
  • Work category: Orchestral works in one movement
  • Dedication: To Emil Sjögren
  • First performed: Uppsala University assembly hall 23 May 1907. The Royal Academic Orchestra, cond. Ivar Hedenblad
  • Duration: 10 min

Instrumentation / / timp, 2 perc / str

Examples of printed editions

Abraham Lundquist
Arrangement by Axel Malm for light orchestra. Stockholom 1932. Abr Lundquist 5353, 5354 Piano direction, / / harm / timp / str
Original work published in 2014 (score and study score)

Location for score and part material

Abraham Lundquist

  • Location autograph: Uppsala Universitetsbibliotek
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: UUB VMhs 169:6


Alfvén, Hugo, Tempo furioso. Stockholm (1948) pp. 372−378.
Hedwall, Lennart:
Hugo Alfvén. Stockholm (1973) pp. 203−205.

Description of work

Larghetto A major 6/8 [A F Lindblad: Sommarkväll]
Allegretto A major [Prins Gustaf: Studentsången]
Poco meno mosso [Bellman: Ulla, min Ulla]
Allegro scherzando C major [G Wennerberg: Hur länge skall i Norden]
Allegretto A major [Prins Gustaf: Studentsången]