Hugo Alfvén (1872-1960)

Festival Overture
for orchestra op. 52

opus 52; Rudén no. 201

  • Year of composition: Dated Tibble 18 July 1944
  • Work category: Orchestral works in one movement
  • First performed: At the inauguration of Malmö Teater- och konserthus on 24 September 1944, Konserthusstiftelsens orkester
  • Duration: Approx. 5-10 min
  • Detailed duration:


3*.3*.3*.3* / / timp, 3 perc / str
(picc, cor angl, bass clar, dbn)

Examples of printed editions

Score and parts Gehrmans Stockholm 1945, CG 3773

Location for score and part material


  • Location autograph: Uppsala Universitetsbibliotek
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Score in pencil at UUB VMhs 203:4; Composition sketch at Stiftelsen Musikkulturens Främjande


Hedwall, Lennart, Hugo Alfvén, Stockholm 1973, pp. 222−223.

Description of work

Allegro molto, con brio C major 4/4