Hugo Alfvén (1872-1960)

Notturno elegiaco

opus 5

  • Year of composition: 1897–98
  • Work category: French horn and piano
  • Dedication: To Axel Malm (one autograph dedicated to Carl Almgren is dated autumn 1897)
  • Duration: 7 min
  • Detailed duration: 7'

Examples of printed editions

Carl Gehrmans musikförlag, Stockholm, C.G. 4663, copyright 1952

Location for score and part material

Statens musik- och teaterbibliotek


Stevensson, Lennart: Alfvéns Elegi = Notturno för horn/violoncell och orgel/piano. − 2−3/97, pp. 20−21. [Earlier publ. in Movitz no. 6, 1995]

Description of work

Adagio, ma non troppo D minor 4/4 (C)

Work comment

Original version is for horn and organ, but the piece can also be played in one of the following combinations: horn and piano, cello and organ or cello and piano.