Gunnar de Frumerie (1908-1987)

Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra

opus 81


1. Con moto moderato
2. Andante
3. Allegretto amabile

  • Year of composition: 1984. The piece is a revision of Cello sonata no. 2 from 1949
  • Work category: Cello and orchestra
  • First performed: 9 august 1985, Lysekil Church, Petra Hellquist, Göteborgs ungdomsorkester conducted by Finn Rosengren.
  • Duration: 23 min


2*.2*.2.2 / / timp, 3 perc, hp, cel / str
(picc, cor angl) The celesta should be according to the instrumentation list be played by one of the percussionists.

Location for score and part material

Svensk Musik

  • Location autograph: Svensk Musik (STIM)

Description of work

1. Con moto moderato F major 4/4
2. Andante F major alla breve
3. Allegretto amabile F major

Work comment

The piece is an revised version of the Sonata no. 2 for violoncello and piano from 1949.

The cello concerto was further on the starting point for the Concerto from trombone and orchestra from 1986.