Gunnar de Frumerie (1908-1987)

Concerto for trombone and orchestra

opus 81


1. Con moto moderato
2. Andante
3. Allegretto amabile

  • Year of composition: 1986
  • Work category: Trombone and orchestra
  • Dedication: To Christian Lindberg
  • First performed: 12 November 1986, Stockholm Concert Hall, Christian Lindberg, Stockholms filharmoniker conducted by Allessandro Siciliani.
  • Duration: 23 min


2*.2*.2.2 / / timp, 3 perc, hp, cel / str
(picc, cor angl) the celesta should according to the instrumentation list be played by one of the percussionists.

Examples of printed editions

Gehrmans, Stockholm 1988

Description of work

1. Con moto moderato F major 4/4
2. Andante F major alla breve
3. Allegretto amabile F major

Work comment

The piece is an revised version of the Concert for violoncello and orchestra from 1984, which then is a revised version of Sonata no. 2 for violoncello and piano from 1949.