Gunnar de Frumerie (1908-1987)

Suite in old style for small orchestra

opus 5b


1. Praeludium: Maestoso
2. Sarabande: Grazioso
3. Gavotte
4. Musette: Rustico
5. Sicilienne: Andantino grazioso
6. Gigue: Molto vivace

  • Year of composition: 1930
  • Work category: Orchestral works in several movements
  • First performed: 17 April 1931, Stockholm Concert Hall. Konsertföreningens orkester conducted by Nils Grevillius.
  • Duration: 15 min

Instrumentation / / str

Examples of printed editions

Edition Suecia, Stockholm, 1931

Description of work

1. Praeludium: Maestoso (no time signature, Dorian on D) varying time signatures (7/4, 4/4, 6/4, 5/4)
2. Sarabande: Gracioso [sic!] (no time signature, but leaning toward A minor/A major) 3/4
3. Gavotte D minor alla breve
4. Musette: Rustico (no time signature, but comes out as G major) 4/4, also: Gavotte da capo al fine
5. Sicilienne: Andantino grazioso (no time signature, but comes out as E minor) 6/8
6. Gigue: Molto vivace D minor 6/8

Work comment

The work is based on Suite for piano no. 1 op. 5a (1930).